14 July 2017 - 1:00pm to 14 July 2017 - 2:00pm


On 4 and 5 April 2017, some 120 researchers, policymakers, public health officials, law enforcement professionals, drug users, and community organizers met in Ottawa to discuss the future of Canada’s domestic and international drug policies.

The Canada’s Drug Futures Forum’s Summary of Proceedings and Final Recommendations will be launched online on Friday, July 14 from 1-2pm Eastern Time. The webinar will include a presentation of the report highlights, comments from respondents, and an opportunity for attendees to ask questions and discuss next steps. You can register and receive login information now. After the launch, copies of the report in both English and French will be available on the website.

Organized by scholars Jennifer Peirce, Ayden Scheim, Claudia Stoicescu, Meaghan Thumath, and Daniel Werb, the forum was a targeted-area-of-inquiry project supported by the Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation and partners. The day's presentations are available online.

Jennifer Peirce

Jennifer Peirce (criminal justice, City University of New York) is exploring how prison governance reforms in Latin America and the Caribbean over the last twenty years have influenced detention conditions and rehabilitation initiatives.

2015 Scholars

Ayden Scheim

Ayden is researching how marginalization impacts transgender people’s health in order to find strategies for intervention at the social and policy levels.

2014 Scholars

Claudia Stoicescu

Ms. Stoicescu is investigating the trigger elements of sexual and injection-related HIV risk behaviours among women who use drugs and marginalized women in Indonesia.

2014 Scholars

Meaghan Thumath

Meaghan Thumath (social policy and intervention, University of Oxford) is a public health and outreach nurse seeking to understand the effects of child removal on marginalized women in Canada.

2015 Scholars

Daniel Werb

Daniel is an epidemiologist and policy analyst with expertise working in the fields of HIV, addictions, and drug policy.

2012 Scholars